Wednesday, December 23, 2009

Obama Declares CMC Federal Disaster Area

President Barack Obama has declared Cape May County a federal disaster area, in the wake of the nor'easter that hammered the coast and caused millions of dollars in damages in mid-November.

(Check out our storm coverage HERE.)

Atlantic and Ocean counties, to the north, were also designated as disaster areas.

North Wildwood endured the brunt of the storm, suffering massive beach erosion and the complete destruction of new dunes on the north end of town. Far less damage was reported in Wildwood and Wildwood Crest.

FEMA now has the go-ahead to direct federal assistance to local towns for repairs of infrastructure and emergency response activities.

Congressman Frank LoBiondo released the following statement:

“Mere hours before the Christmas holiday, this disaster declaration is welcome news for coastal communities and countless residents in Atlantic, Cape May and Ocean counties who are still assessing and repairing the extensive damage caused by the November nor’easter. I am pleased the President recognized the need for federal assistance for our coastal communities, allowing them to rebuild critical public infrastructure that is crucial for the local economy and the safety of residents.”

No comments:

Post a Comment